If you have sustained an occupational injury, you may be wondering if you are eligible for benefits and, if so, which ones.  Here are some frequently asked questions about cash awards for workers’ compensation cases.

Cash Benefits for On-the-Job Injuries in Georgia

(pixabay / uygargunday)

Q: If I am out of work for an injury that occurred in the State of Georgia, what percentage of my usual wages will I receive?

A: The workers’ compensation board starts with an Average Weekly Wage calculation in order to keep your payout as close to your regular wages as possible.  This figure is calculated from the wages that you received in the 13 weeks immediately preceding your injury.

Q:  What if I work for tips? 

A:  Tips—along with any extra allowances that you receive (travel per diem, etc.)—will be included in the Average Weekly Wage calculation so long as those earnings are reported to the IRS.

Q:  What if I just started working and don’t have a 13-week history with the company?

A:  If you are new to the company, your Average Weekly Wage calculation can be made based on the wages of employees with similar work responsibilities.

Q:  Will the company pay my medical bills?

A:  Workers’ compensation insurance should cover your medical treatment.

Q: What if my doctor says that I have to stay home from work until I heal?

A:  This condition is known as temporary total disability (TTD).  If this is your classification, you can expect to receive two-thirds of your Average Weekly Wage (not to exceed $575).  You can only receive TTD for a maximum of 400 weeks after the injury occurred unless your injury is considered catastrophic.

Q:  What if my doctor returns me to work in a different capacity?

A:  Your case may be classified as “temporary partial disability” (TPD) if you are impaired but not completely disabled and you are earning less than you were prior to your injury.

Q:  What if my employer does not pay me on time?

A:  Employers have been known to drag their feet when it comes to making payments.  If they are late under the guidelines set forth by the Board, they must pay a penalty of 15 percent of the owed amount.

If you have more questions than answers when it comes to your workers’ compensation case, contact Ramos Law Firm.  We have devoted our careers to helping clients navigate the workers’ compensation system and can help you get a maximum award to cover your lost wages and medical expenses.