How will I pay my medical bills?
If your claim has been accepted and you are seeing an authorized doctor, your bills will be covered by workers’ compensation. The medical provider cannot bill you for these services by law.
How much will I receive in income benefits?
Your weekly benefits will be two-thirds of your average weekly wage, up to $575.00 if the accident occurred on or after July 1, 2015. For more information or for accidents occurring prior to July 1, 2016.
If I miss work because of my injury, will I get my regular paycheck?
You may receive weekly indemnity (income) benefits if you miss seven (7) days of work because of an occupational accident.
Generally, the injured worker receives two-thirds (2/3) of his or her average weekly wage up to the statutory limit.
Can I see my own doctor?
No, you will need to see a doctor that is chosen from a panel of physicians (a list of employee-provided doctors).
What if I can go to work but am only able to work at a lower paying job due to the injury?
You will be able to receive a reduced amount of benefits in this case. You will be able to receive up to $367.00 a week if the accident occurred on or after July 1, 2015.
Can I be fired from my job?
Unfortunately, yes. Georgia is an at-will state. However, if you have an employment contract or have been discriminated against because of your disability, you may have legal recourse outside of workers’ compensation.
Can I change doctors?
You may change doctors once as a matter of right. However, your choice must be another doctor on the list provided by the insurance company (Panel of Physicians).
What if I go to the emergency room, will this be covered?
You may get this type of temporary medical care as long as it is truly an emergency. If it is, then it will likely be covered.
Can I get rehabilitation?
In many circumstances, yes, you can seek vocational and medical rehabilitation. These are handled on a case-to-case basis, and it is important to speak with an attorney about your specific situation.
What about my pain and suffering?
Georgia workers’ compensation laws do not provide for pain and suffering. Recovery is based on medical treatment and missed income.
What are my workers’ compensation rights?
If you are injured on the job, you are entitled to medical treatment, rehabilitation and income benefits. Generally, these benefits are provided to injured workers so that they can return back to work if possible.
What happens if the worker dies because of the work accident?
Generally, if the deceased employee has dependents that relied on the worker for financial stability, then the dependents may receive the workers’ compensation benefits.
Is it legal for them to watch me?
Unfortunately, it is legal for insurance companies to videotape and watch your activities.
Can I be reimbursed for my mileage?
Workers’ compensation will reimburse you for necessary travel expenses including mileage to and from doctor visits. Currently, the mileage reimbursement is $0.40 per mile.
HAVE YOU OR SOMEONE YOU LOVE BEEN HURT AT WORK?
There are certain deadlines in the Georgia Workers’ Comp system. Contact us either by calling us at (770) 637-0105 or using the form below for a free consultation to examine your rights.
Reach out to the top Atlanta workers’ compensation lawyers today!
Advocating for Georgia’s Injured Workers since 2005
Ramos Law Firm
14 Lenox Pointe NE
Atlanta, GA 30324